Congratulations, Biology award winners!

Congratulations to the following award winners who will be recognized at the 2012 Biology Undergraduate Award Ceremony!


To honor these individuals, please join us on FRIDAY, APRIL 27, at 3:30 PM, in Jordan Hall A100 for a program and reception to recognize their accomplishments.


Biology Undergraduate Research Award

Eloise Weir


Blatchley Nature Study Scholarship

Melissa Burger


Clark (Howard W.) Scholarship

Ryan Kessens


Crowell (Sears) Scholarships

Marta Shocket (graduate student recipient)

Joseph Welklin (undergraduate recipient)


Eigenmann (Carl H.) Scholarship

Jia Mun Chan

Ferguson (Arlene) Internship at Hilltop Gardens

Michelle McKee


Fox Glen Research and Education Fund Award

Susan Keen

Grossman (Rex) Award

Alan Hyslop


Indiana Daffodil Society Scholarship

Valerie Milici

McClung (L.S.) Scholarships in Microbiology

Lauren Christiansen

Y-Lan Khuong


Microbiology Undergraduate Summer Research Program Awards

Gina Gordon

Seth Staller


Mower (Alfred Parson) Awards

Kimberly L. Long (undergraduate recipient)

Sarah Keesom (graduate student recipient)


Outstanding Associate Instructor Award

F. Collin Hobbs for his work in BIOL L112 Biological Mechanisms, B300 Vascular Plants, B364 Summer Flowering Plants, and L474 Field Ecology.  (Drs. Albert Ruesink, Eric Knox, and Maxine Watson, instructors.)


Outstanding Undergraduate Teaching Assistant Award

Mohammad Siddiq

For:  BIOL L311 Genetics (Dr. Brian Calvi, instructor.)


Outstanding Honors Thesis Award

Erika C. Anderson


Senior Class Award for Teaching Excellence in Biology & Dedication to Undergraduates

Joe Pomerening


Congratulations to all of the Biology scholarship & award winners, and the faculty and staff who have supported them throughout their time at IU!


Special thanks to Dr. Rich Hardy and Dr. Tai Min for serving on the scholarship selection committee.  Thanks also to Dr. Lynda Delph, Dr. Mike Tansey, Debbie Martindale, Anna Bednarski, Alice Eads, and Tammie Wise for all their continuing work with the scholarship and awards program.

All my best,




Kathy E. Wyss, Development Officer and Scholarships Coordinator

Department of Biology, Indiana University