Special seminar on Inspiring STEM Careers this Wednesday, March 9

Wednesday, March 9 @ 4:00 pm in Swain West 119

 

All are welcome!

 

Women in Science is also hosting a breakfast with the speaker on Wednesday @ 8:30 am. Anyone is welcome to attend the breakfast as well!! Please RSVP here: http://goo.gl/forms/0eIRyRNUrz

 

Ms. Sylvia Acevedo is trained as an engineer and works with STEM, women in STEM, and Hispanics in STEM. She has made important contributions towards ameliorating the growing health disparities in children of under-served populations. Her innovative systems work led to international awards and recognition including being named to the White House Commission for Educational Excellence for Hispanics by President Obama in 2011.

 

 

Inspiring STEM careers: A lifetime trajectory from First Gen Student to a White House Commissioner

Inspiring students, from diverse communities, to pursue physics as a major or a career is imperative because of the rapidly changing student population in the US. In this colloquium, I discuss how I became interested in science; becoming one of the first Latina/o’s to earn a graduate engineering degree from Stanford. I have lived through the challenges that confront many first generation students: financial, familial, gender, academic and social.  As a child, a spark of an interest in a science experiment was sustained which allowed me to pursue a STEM career, including work as a rocket scientist at JPL. After a career in technology, most recently, I’ve used my analytical skills to develop scalable solutions in education leading to my appointment on a White House Commission.  I will discuss specific tactics that leveraged my STEM background providing a trajectory into new career paths.

 

 

